And We Carry On

Posted on December 15, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

There is this house in town that my family and I have enjoyed driving by at Christmas time for several years. It is one of those houses that goes all out. Lights and decorations on every inch of the yard. But last year we were disappointed when we drove by and there was absolutely nothing. Not one string of lights. Not one decoration. We figured they had moved or something. My mom and I drove by there tonight and the lights and decorations were back and as big and bright as ever! With one addition: A sign hung that said, “We Miss You, Dad!” Then we knew why there was nothing last year. They were in the midst of dealing with the loss of a loved one. That hit very close to home because last year my family and I were going through the same thing. My Grandpa passed away on January 11, but he was in the hospital or rehab most of the Christmas season and we knew his days were numbered. We went through the motions of Christmas, but didn’t do anything big and our hearts just weren’t in it.

I think it’s such a powerful testimony that the other family was back to decorating this year. And they made it a tribute to their dad. They are carrying on with life. With broken hearts? Yes, I’m sure. Not quite the same? Of course. But they are continuing living to make their loved one proud and carry on the legacy I’m sure he left behind. I would love to hear their story.Β 

It inspires me once again to carry on and make my Grandpa proud. I want to do something to honor him this Christmas.

Thank you to whoever that family is for your powerful testimony.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “And We Carry On”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

Trina, you honor your grandpa every day by the life you live. πŸ™‚

Thank you. I sure hope so. πŸ™‚


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

