What Being Sick Reminds Me About Myself

Posted on December 8, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I don’t like being weak.

I don’t like letting people down and having to back out of things that I am supposed to do. I have a major guilt problem with these things.

I don’t know how to relax and don’t really until I’m forced to and even then it’s not very relaxing because of the discomfort of sickness. It turns into a viscous cycle.

But I do have to say I have improved. I’m learning to speak up more and say no to things I just can’t do. When in the past I would have done it anyway and just made myself more miserable. I wonder if the guilt that comes along with backing out of something ever goes away? Will I learn to be easier on myself about that? And will I learn how to relax on a regular basis so I don’t get caught in a vicious cycle of exhaustion? So I guess one more thing I’m reminded of is that I’m still a work in progress. 🙂

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “What Being Sick Reminds Me About Myself”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

I think some of the guilt relaxes with age, as you realize that you just physically can’t do everything for everybody and not fall apart eventually. One of the things I always tell young mothers is, “You can’t take care of them unless you take care of yourself.” The same thing holds true for singles…no matter how hard you want to please and care for others, you only have a finite amount of energy and time, and if you are ill all bets are off.

Get better soon, my friend.

That is a good point. Thank you. 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

