Our Daily Bread

Posted on June 1, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

20130601_210302I teach the K-2nd grade Sunday School class at my church and we’ve been learning about Moses. Tomorrow our lesson is on God providing manna and quail for the Israelites. The part that fascinates me is that each day, they were only supposed to get enough bread for THAT day (except of course, the day before the Sabbath they had to get double). And if they tried to get more and save it for another day, by morning it had maggots in it. Of course this sticks out to me because most of the kids in my class are boys and will love the maggot part. 🙂 But mostly, I think about the extreme exercise in trust this was for the Israelites. They had to believe that God would keep giving them this bread day after day. To try to save some was saying that God might not come through for them. It’s the same way with our needs today. Yes, we need to be wise with what has been given us and it’s smart to put money aside and all that, but there are still many times when we are called to just take one day at a time and trust that God will provide us with what we need next, even when we don’t know how. The Lord’s prayer says, “Give us THIS DAY our daily bread.” Sometimes we only see what’s right in front of us: The manna on the ground this morning. We don’t get to see beyond that. Jesus, help me to trust You one day at a time. I don’t want the “maggots” of worry and trying to take things into my own hands to stink up my life. I want the peace that comes with fully trusting that each day I will look out my window to see my daily bread.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

