Finding Jesus on the Water

Posted on February 25, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

” ‘Lord, if it’s you,’ Peter replied, ‘tell me to come to you on the water.’

‘Come,’ he said.

Then Peter got down off the boat , walked on the water and came towards Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, ‘Lord, save me!’

Immediately, Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. ‘You of little faith,’ he said, ‘why did you doubt?'”

Matthew 14:28-31

I’ve been thinking of this story in a new way lately. Because in terms of this story, we usually think of the scary part as stepping out on to the stormy sea to follow Jesus. But what if sometimes we feel like we can’t even see Jesus? What if the scary part isn’t facing getting past your comfort zone and stepping out on to new territory? What if the scary part is that you have no idea where your are supposed to go? You’re in the boat trying to figure out where to go and you just wish Jesus would show you so you could then step out to follow Him. That’s where I’m at now. I know Jesus is still right there, even though I’m not sure where we are going. And I know there is a purpose for this time, but it’s just so hard for your whole life to be up in the air. You would almost rather have to deal with walking on water than being stuck in the boat not knowing where to go. I know my time will come. I just don’t know when. For now I pray that Jesus will sustain me through it and teach me what I will need to know and prepare me for when He does call me to step out onto the water.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

