Book Review: “When Your Parent Becomes Your Child”

Posted on February 20, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

When Your Parent Becomes Your ChildKen Abraham’s When Your Parent Becomes Your Child is a story of “his journey of faith through [his] mother’s dementia.” He tells about his experience of dealing with his mother from the first signs of her dementia (and his denial of those signs) to her departure from this life. He details the difficult journey from dealing with the new quirks and behaviors of dementia to the eventual physical toll that the disease and old age take on the body. Throughout chronicling this story, he inserts bits of research and medical facts on dementia and Alzheimer’s and advice for other people dealing with someone who has one of these conditions. He also flashes back and tells stories of his mom from earlier in her life to give an overall picture of who she was and how the disease changed her and yet how there were some things it could not take away from her.

When I saw this book, I knew I had to read it. My grandmother has dementia and my family is trying to learn how to best care for her. What I most appreciated about this book was Ken Abraham’s honesty in telling his story. He gave me something I could relate to and comfort in reaffirming the fact that this change in personality isn’t really my grandma. It’s not her talking. It’s the disease. And for her condition, this is all perfectly normal. I also appreciated the fact that this story is all told from the perspective of Ken Abraham’s faith and how he leaned on God throughout the journey.

Sometimes the organization of the book seemed a little scattered and hard to follow, but the overall story was powerful and well told. Ken Abraham uses the perfect combination of seriousness and humor. Because in order to survive, you have to find the humor in dementia.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone dealing with a family member or friend who has Alzheimer’s or dementia. It will help you understand them better and also help you realize you are not alone.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

