When the Fire Gets Too Hot

Posted on November 6, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God–this is your spiritual act of worship.” Romans 12:1

I went to Women of Faith a couple weeks ago and what stood out to me most about all the messages I heard that entire weekend was what Sheila Walsh had to say about this verse. She said the thing about a living sacrifice is that it can choose to walk off the altar when the fire gets too hot. That’s me. I feel like I’m the kind of person who is always getting caught in the middle of fires. And I’m tired of the heat. I’m tired of being burned. I’ve been in that place lately where I just want to walk away. And I even use that as my justification for backing away from things. “I don’t think I’m supposed to do that. I’ve already been burned too many times. Can’t someone else take a turn?” There are times that God does release us from a circumstance, but there are also many times when we are called to stay in the midst of the fire and be that living sacrifice. And by his grace, we can endure and accomplish his purpose for us. If we are faithful to endure, what blessings there will be on the other side!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

