The Turning Point

Posted on May 18, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

In my last post “I’m Back,” I compared my current journey to that of the Israelites escaping from Egypt. There is one part of their story that makes more sense to me now. On several occasions during their time in the wilderness, the Israelites complain and start talking about how they would have been better off in Egypt. In Exodus 16:3, they say, “If only we had died by the Lord’s hand in Egypt! There we sat around pots of meat and ate all the food we wanted, but you have brought us out into this desert to starve this entire assembly to death.” Seems crazy, right? But how many times do we refuse to accept the freedom God offers because we are afraid of the unknown? Where we are isn’t fun, but at least it’s familiar and we’ve learned how to deal with it. That’s where I was with my job. And last Thursday when God led me to quit. I came to the realization that at that point, it would actually take more faith to walk away than to stay and endure the suffering. God was offering me freedom, but I had to trust Him enough to walk into the unknown. As much as I had to depend on God while facing day after day of my difficult job, to continue at that moment would be more about depending on myself. See I’m pretty stubborn and I’ll dig my heels in and work hard and keep at something. So I could have gone on, depending on that stubbornness. Or I could listen to God and depend on Him by walking away from my job with no idea where I was going next or where the next paycheck was going to come from. And for someone who is a ridiculous planner and likes to have everything under control, I sure had an incredible peace about walking into the great unknown. A peace that passed all understanding. (Philippians 4:7).

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “The Turning Point”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

That peace was a sure sign you were making the right choice!

I agree! 🙂

LOVE….just Love the post and you are so right!!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

