Favor in 2012

Posted on January 12, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Isaiah 61

The Year of the LORD’s Favor

 1 The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,
   because the LORD has anointed me
   to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
   to proclaim freedom for the captives
   and release from darkness for the prisoners,
2 to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor
   and the day of vengeance of our God,
to comfort all who mourn,
 3 and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty
   instead of ashes,
the oil of gladness
   instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise
   instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness,
   a planting of the LORD
   for the display of his splendor.

 4 They will rebuild the ancient ruins
   and restore the places long devastated;
they will renew the ruined cities
   that have been devastated for generations.

This is the passage of scripture and the theme that God gave me for this year. I want this to be the year that I finally let him heal my broken heart. I want it to be the year that I receive freedom from strongholds. I want beauty for the ashes of everything that has fallen apart or been spinning out of control. I want to hand over my spirit of despair and be clothed with a garment of praise for all that God has redeemed and made new in my life. I want to become an oak of righteousness able to brave whatever future weather or storms come my way. And perhaps more than anything, I long to see the restoration of a place dear to my heart, that has been long devastated. See, a year of God’s favor isn’t just about a year full of warm and fuzzy feelings and blessings. It’s going to take work. It’s going to take surrender. It’s going to take change. But the kind of favor this passage talks about is more than worth every bit of the challenge.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Favor in 2012”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

I love that this passage — from the Old Testament — talks about preaching good news to the poor. This has always been God’s message to us, even before he sent us Jesus. “The Message” phrases this as “…give them bouquets of roses instead of ashes, messages of joy instead of news of doom, a praising heart instead of a languid spirit.” This will ring in my ears as I tend my garden and grow my life this year. Thank you, Trina.

Thanks for sharing The Message version! That’s beautiful! Enjoy your garden! 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

