Fighting Back, Part 1

Posted on January 5, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I found myself asking God to let me fight back. I know I’m supposed to love my enemies and turn the other cheek and repay evil with blessing and all that, but I’ve spent too much of my life being a doormat and I refuse to be used again. “Let me fight back. Please let me fight back. This isn’t right. They need to learn a lesson.” Still, something didn’t seem right. I prayed, wondered, and searched. Where was the line between being a servant and standing up for myself so I didn’t become that doormat again? It finally began to dawn on me. God’s Word whispered in my soul. Yes, I’m supposed to fight back, but not in the way I wanted to. Not the way the world does. “For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of this world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought and make it obedient to Christ.” 2 Corinthians 10:3-5

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Fighting Back, Part 1”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

I think we can “turn the other cheek” without being doormats. Meeting bad behavior with kindness, quietly serving as a good example in the face of those who are rude and obnoxious — these are actions that can be done with God’s love. And you end up with a reputation for doing the right thing in the right way. Good post, Trina!

Those are great ways to fight back with love. Thanks for sharing, Fawn! 🙂

Trina, thank you for sharing that. I know how you feel, being a Christian can be hard sometimes and there is a fine line we stand on because people that don’t know Jesus expect us to be perfect and take everything but the scripture says it best we must fight back the way it please our Father but I also believe that Jesus get angry with us when we don’t fight back when we become that doormat. Just some thought and a big thank you I loved it!

Thanks, Barbara! 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

