My Life Motto, Part 2

Posted on October 17, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

In my last blog post, I wrote about a passage in 1 Peter which talks about the suffering that Jesus put up with without saying a word or fighting back, because He “entrusted himself to him who judges justly.” I think people have sometimes interpreted passages like this to say that we should never fight back and we should endure whatever. But I’ve always been taught that being a Christian doesn’t mean being a doormat. And I believe that. Because when you look at this passage in context with other passages about Jesus’ suffering and death, you will see that he was definitely not a doormat. In John 10:18 Jesus says,“No one takes [my life] from me, but I lay it down of my own accord.” And when Jesus is on trial before Pilate, Jesus says, “You would have no power over me if it were not given to you from above.” (John 19:11). They could not have laid a finger on Him if He didn’t allow them to. Within a matter of seconds, Jesus could have called on “more than 12 legions of angels” to come to His side. (Matthew 26:53). Yes, Jesus went through tremendous suffering. Yes, He was beaten and crucified unjustly. But it was only because He willingly gave His body and life for our salvation. And even though some tried, no one could touch Him until the time was right (John 8:59, 12:36).  Jesus was not weak in the suffering He put up with. Instead, He showed incredible love and strength in enduring something He didn’t have to endure, just to save us.

So when it comes to us, we aren’t called to let people walk all over us or abuse us, but I believe we may be called at times to endure suffering for a greater purpose. We may end up in a difficult situation or place that seems unfair and we don’t understand why. But maybe there’s someone there that needs us. Maybe there’s a miracle God wants us to be part of. And like I said in a previous blog post, we are called into dark places because we have The Flashlight.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

