My New Life Motto

Posted on October 13, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

“When they hurled their insults at him, he did not retaliate; when he suffered, he made no threats. Instead, he entrusted himself to him who judges justly.” 1 Peter 2:23

I did a Bible study on 1 Peter this summer and every time I came across this verse, it stood out to me and I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind since. I want “entrust [myself] to Him who judges justly” to be my motto. If I could do that, I think I could let things go and forgive easier. Because sometimes I’m afraid to because I think it will mean acting like everything is ok and just shoving aside the hurt like it never happened and didn’t matter. But if I could entrust myself to God, I could let go of the hurt and choose to forgive and love because I know He will make everything right. He will deal with whatever needs to be dealt with. And if I entrusted myself to Him who judges justly, I wouldn’t care so much if I get everything I deserve or if I’m appreciated the way I should be. Colossians 3:23-24 says, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.” I just need to do what God has called me to do and be what He has called me to be and not worry about whether this world rewards me the way it should. If I entrust myself to God, I know He’s going to reward me big time in heaven, more than I could ever be rewarded in this life anyway! I spend so many moments being hurt and confused about things and am oblivious to the big smile on my Heavenly Father’s face and the words of encouragement He wants to whisper to me. And in the end, those things are all I really need. 🙂

To be continued….Part 2: “Entrusting Yourself” does not mean becoming a doormat.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

