Grandpa and Grandma’s House

Posted on September 26, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

We just recently sold and cleaned out my grandparents’ house because they are at an assisted living place now. Being a very visual and sentimental person, those moments of helping pack up all their stuff and walking through the rooms of the house brought back memories going back as far as I can remember. Standing in the living room I was brought back to all the times when my siblings, cousins, and I turned it into a stage where we put on performance after performance for our parents in the form of all kinds of random skits and songs. It also became a restaurant at times when we brought out the play dish set and served our parents.

Then there’s the kitchen which always contained cookies offered to us every time we came over. My grandpa calls them “vitamins” which further convinces me of my theory that cookies at Grandpa and Grandma’s house are sugar-free, fat-free, and calorie-free. They just have to be. 🙂

My favorite thing about Grandpa and Grandma’s house had to be their huge backyard, which was the backdrop for what must have been hundreds of birthday parties and holiday gatherings. The covered patio. The swing which each of us used to fit in back in the day. 🙂 And the grass area which was the best place in the world to hunt Easter eggs! This brings me to the memories of one of the spare bedrooms where we kids would all wait while our parents hid the eggs. I admit that we tried to peek out the window a time or two. 🙂

The house now belongs to someone else as of a week ago. It’s already so hard to drive by it and see a strange car in the driveway. But I know I’ll be revisiting that house many times in my memories, and as I sort through the boxes and boxes of family photos that I eagerly volunteered to organize. I can’t wait! I will enjoy every moment of it! 🙂

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Grandpa and Grandma’s House”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

I also have fond memories of visiting there~~~

Change is not easy but no one ever said that life would be easy~~

Love your Blogs~

Trina, I hope the house’s new owners love it, too. Since selling our home this spring, I really enjoy driving past it and seeing the evidence of how much the young man who bought it is doing to improve it. You will always have your wonderful memories — now someone else will be able to make them there, also.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

