You Don’t Need a Flashlight in the Daytime

Posted on September 22, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

“You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

Matthew 5:14-16

When trying to figure out why God has placed me in a very difficult, sometimes dark, place, He brought to my mind an image of a flashlight and this thought: “Sometimes God sends us into a dark place because we have a flashlight.” Maybe this place and these people need me to shine through the darkness and be the light of Jesus. I started thinking about how you don’t need a flashlight in places where it is light. That would be pointless. So why do we expect God to always place us in nice, pleasant places already full of light? No. He sends us into the dark where we can use our Flashlight. And the darker the place, the brighter our Flashlight can shine. So if I keep that purpose in mind, I think I can be more content and understand more why God has me in the place that I am. When asked why He spent His time with “sinners,” Jesus said, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick.” Matthew 9:12. We should follow His example.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

9 Responses to “You Don’t Need a Flashlight in the Daytime”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

Trina this is so good for me. I feel so alone a lot of the time since Grandpa is gone. If I didn’t have God in my life I don’t know if I could cope. Thank you for your words of comfort. I Love You Much, Grandaughter~~~~

Welcome! Love you too! When I’m a rich author I can come visit you lots!! πŸ™‚

Nice job Trina.

Thanks, Aunt Sue! πŸ™‚

How old were you when you learned, “This little light of mine, I’m gonna’ let it shine!”? From what I can see, you have been being a reflection of Christ’s light in the world your whole life, shining brightly.

Thanks, Fawn! I love that song! πŸ™‚

Thank you for the post, Trina. Light therapy–the art of allowing God to heal the world through his marvelous light shining through our lives! Keep up the encouraging words πŸ™‚

Thank you! πŸ™‚

[…] be part of. And like I said in a previous blog post, we are called into dark places because we have The Flashlight. LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); […]


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

