I Looked at the Waves Again…

Posted on September 13, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I feel like every time I start to get it right, every time I know where I’m headed, life hits hard again and I go into survival mode. I lose sight of who I am and where I am going. I find myself waiting for life to be normal, but deep inside, I know that will never really happen. Because life is life. And there is no such thing as normal. So how do I keep on track no matter what is going on? God reminded me of Hebrews 12:1-2: “…let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith…” If our focus is on Jesus, we will never go wrong. Everything else in our lives may be unstable, undependable, and always changing, but Jesus is our Rock. He never moves. So through all these trials, I need to never take my eyes off Him. He’ll keep me steady and going where I need to go no matter what is happening around me. It’s like when Jesus was walking on the water and called Peter to come out to Him. As long as Peter kept his eyes on Jesus, he was able to keep walking, but when he looked at the wind and waves around him, he began to sink. That’s what I’ve let myself do. I start looking at all the craziness that life is throwing at me and I feel like I’m sinking. I forget that if I keep my eyes on Jesus, I can be strong and thrive and keep walking even in the hardest moments of life. Jesus, please help me to remember this!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

