Spiritual Truths in Unlikely Places: Taylor Swift’s “Mean”

Posted on August 15, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I love how God speaks to us in individual ways that are unique to the way He made us. He speaks to us in ways we can understand. Because I’m a writer, I tend to look at life like I look at literature. I analyze it to death! 🙂 I look for the deeper meanings and messages. So God tends to speak to me through those things I come across as I’m going about my day and gives me messages from them that goes far beyond the surface level. One of my current favorite examples of this is the powerful message God gave me through a country song: Taylor Swift’s “Mean.” This song is about not letting people who put us down define us, but to grow beyond it. The song is catchy and fun and encouraging, so I kept listening to it over and over again and I realized something. This song is a perfect victory over Satan song! Here’s the first verse:

You, with your words like knives and swords and weapons that you use against me
You have knocked me off my feet again, got me feeling like a nothing
You, with your voice like nails on a chalkboard calling me out when I’m wounded
You, picking on the weaker man
Well you can take me down with just one single blow
But you don’t know what you don’t know

Isn’t that exactly what Satan does? He’s constantly lying to us, putting us down, and discouraging us. He figures out our weak spots and hits us there…when we are down. This verse pretty much sums up Satan’s job description.

The chorus goes on to say:

Someday I’ll be living in a big ole city
And all you’re ever gonna be is mean
Someday I’ll be big enough so you can’t hit me
And all you’re ever gonna be is mean
Why you gotta be so mean.

Here we find the hope, the victory. Someday we WILL be living in a “big ole city” (a.k.a. Heaven)! And Satan still is going to be his mean, nasty self. He’s never going to change. He’s going to keep trying to get us down, but we have hope that we can conquer him by the power of Jesus, and one day, he will no longer be able to touch us!

 Now have come the salvation and the power and the kingdom of our God,
   and the authority of his Christ.
For the accuser of our brothers,
   who accuses them before our God day and night,
   has been hurled down.
11 They overcame him
   by the blood of the Lamb
   and by the word of their testimony;
they did not love their lives so much
   as to shrink from death.

Revelation 12:10-11

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Spiritual Truths in Unlikely Places: Taylor Swift’s “Mean””

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

Wow! I love it. I am so proud of the way you listed to God and share His messages through your blog. I love you my beautiful daughter. Mom

Aww, thanks, Mom! 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

