Book Review: A Conversation with God for Women

Posted on August 4, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

The idea behind A Conversation with God for Women by Marcia Ford is explained by its subtitle: “If you could ask God any question, what would it be?” The book answers 55 different questions from the points of view of God, Jesus, and women from the Bible. Questions range from ones of theology and faith such as “Why don’t you prevent disasters from happening” and “Did you physically rise from the dead” to practical life questions such as “How can we love unlovable people” and “How can we have deeper friendships?”

I was very excited when I saw this book. The “conversation” part of the title really grabbed me. So often I feel it would be nice to just sit down and literally have a conversation with God. However, from the moment I started reading the book, I saw that it’s not really written in a conversational language. I lost interest very quickly. It didn’t engage me like a conversation should. What I did like about it is that it asks some very interesting questions and pulls out passages and examples from scripture that relate to those questions, which would be a help if you wanted to know what the Bible said about a certain topic. So I think the book would be better formatted as a “Q & A” or topic reference type book. But it doesn’t work as a “conversational” book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

