A Different Spirit

Posted on November 11, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I love when I receive an answer from God. When one morning I’m suddenly wide awake in the remaining half hour before I have to get up for work (the time I always intend to have my quiet time, but usually sleep through) and something urges me to read through a certain book and I see a verse that I need to fight the intense spiritual battle I’m part of (see last blog post). And I love when I stumble across a verse I underlined in my Bible and for the life of me I don’t remember when and why I did, but I guess it’s so that I would find it now, when it’s going to be really meaningful to me.

“But because my servant Caleb has a different spirit and follows me wholeheartedly, I will bring him into the land he went to.” Numbers 14:24

This verse is part of the story about when 12 men are sent to explore the land of Canaan and all but Joshua and Caleb come back saying that they can’t take over the land because the people there are too big. Caleb speaks up in faith in the middle of their fearful talk and says, ” We should go up and take possession of the land, for we can certainly do it (13:30). When everyone else is whining and complaining about how God had just brought them to the desert to die and how they should have just stayed in Egypt, Caleb stays strong in his faith and belief that God is with them and with Him, they can do anything. So what the above verse refers to as a “different spirit” means he had a different attitude and outlook on the situation before them.

Having a “different spirit” than what’s around me is something I’ve been wrestling with lately. I try sometimes, but honestly for the most part, I let my environment affect my spirit. And I think I tell myself and God that it’s just so stressful and negative around me, that what am I supposed to do? I act like I have no choice but to be negative and stressed too. But I know that’s not true. I’m sure it wasn’t easy for Caleb to be so positive and faithful in an environment of complaining and fear, but he was. He didn’t let those around him affect what he knew to be true.

So there’s the answer to the struggle of this season of life I’m in. I need to refuse to give in to the negative environment around me and choose by faith in my Jesus, to have a spirit of joy and perseverance.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “A Different Spirit”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

Trina, you never cease to amaze me with your writing.
I always wished I could put my thoughts into writing and couldn’t. At least my Grandaughter is now doing it and I can read it and enjoy.

The JOY of the LORD IS YOUR STRENGTH. Have a very blessed Friday, Katrina.

I needed that reminder. Thanks, Pamela!!! 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

