If I Came With An Owner’s Manual…

Posted on August 19, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

” ‘In your anger do not sin’: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.” Ephesians 4:26-27

Don’t you love reading the instructions in owner’s manuals or product packaging? Like when it’s just described the microwaving process of a frozen meal, it says, “Caution: May be hot.” Or I think my current favorite is I was looking at the nutrition information on a container of peanuts and it gave an allergy warning saying, “May contain nuts.” Well, duh. Peanuts! The sad thing is that they probably have to put that obvious information on there because at some point they’ve had issues with people not getting what should be common sense.

But I think we do the same thing when it comes to dealing with and taking care of ourselves. We don’t come with an owner’s manual, but as we grow and live we are able to learn enough about ourselves that we would be able to write one. We know all our little quirks and what needs to happen for us to function best. And you know what happens when we ignore that knowledge? We do what the verse above warns against: We give the devil a foothold. 

Here are some things I’ve learned about myself:

-I’m an introvert, meaning I need frequent alone, quiet down time to be sane and energized.

-I have a fast metabolism, which requires that I eat frequently throughout the day so I don’t crash.

-I am a thinker, which means my mind is a constant running machine that once started can blow things way out of proportion and get me all agitated and upset.

If I ignore these things that should be common sense after almost 25 years, I give the devil a foothold. If I’ve kept myself running around like crazy and haven’t had my down time or if I haven’t eaten like I should, I’m going to get stressed and moody and I’m just going to go in survival mode, acting in ways I wouldn’t normally and with no energy to stand up to the temptations and attacks Satan brings my way.  Or if I let a negative thought get started on the track of my mind, by the time the train stops, I’ll forget what the truth is and  I’ll be believing all of Satan’s lies.

So when I ignore these facts about myself and then get frustrated and mad with the way things turn out, then I’m as crazy as the lady who spilled coffee on herself and sued McDonald’s cause it was hot! Right?

What about you? What things have you learned about yourself that you need to keep in mind in order to be at your best?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “If I Came With An Owner’s Manual…”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

[…] Woooe, what a weekend! Want to give a shout-out to my girls Anne Gaskill and Katrina Sinift who had me visit over on their blogs yesterday. Anne is a great photographer and captures the joy of everyday life in her family, and Katrina blogs about God, life and writing (I particularly like this post on “If I Came With An Owner’s Manual”)  […]


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

