Psalm 5:3 Challenge Wrap Up

Posted on August 13, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I wish I could report back on this and say that I had this super-spiritual week full of miracles after taking the Psalm 5:3 challenge. But I didn’t. Guilt starts to creep up in me and I think, “What’s wrong with me.” But I there therein lies the problem. “What’s wrong with me.” I’m focusing on what I can do. When the Psalms says “I wait in expectation” it means waiting for what God’s going to do. As it is way too often in my life, I make it about my own abilities and have all these high expectations for myself: I’m taking this challenge, so I need to be focused and determined and work on doing everything right and feel super spiritual. Sure I have my part to play in this Christian walk. I’m not saying that I’m supposed to sit around and do nothing. But as the overachiever perfectionist that I am, I have the effort part pretty much figured out. I’m missing out on one of the key words in that Psalm “I wait in expectation. I don’t know if I really know how to wait on God. I don’t know if I know how to just be still.  So that’s my next challenge. But I’m not going to challenge myself to learn how to wait, because that would just put me in a vicious circle of trying too hard. I think what I need to do is just pray. Pray that God gives me the wait-before-Him, be-still-and-know-that-He-is-God, walk-by-faith kind of heart. Because it’s about what He can do in me, not about what I can accomplish.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Psalm 5:3 Challenge Wrap Up”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

WOW! Is that ever what MOST of us need~
I am not an over achiever but this hit me between the eyes. I am a slacker but I, as most of us, don’t pray enough. I get depressed because I don’t get things done and feel sorry for myself because I am alone so much. God is always with me so why do feel lonely, at times. Thank you, Trina for reminding me that I need to wait on the Lord and give him my fears and needs.. You are opening other hearts by letting us read your blog’s. I Love You Much~~~

Awww!! Love you Gma!! 🙂

I appreciate your thoughts, especially regarding “waiting” for God. I’m a perfectionist, too, so I identify with the challenge of trying in my own power to learn to wait rather than praying that God gives me the wait-before-Him heart!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

