Grace, for myself???

Posted on August 1, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Grace. It’s what saves us. It’s the reason we can have a relationship with God and the reason for His blessings. It’s what we’re told to use with difficult people. But where does grace fit in relation to how we see ourselves?? See I’m the type of person who tries to be ever patient with people and will put up with a ridiculous amount of garbage from somebody and still not turn my back on them. But when it comes to myself?? Well, I beat myself to death over one little mistake. I go to bed feeling guilty if I haven’t “accomplished”  enough that day. Forget the fact that I didn’t feel good or had a bad day or was overwhelmed with more than I could handle. I should have done better. Is anyone with me?

But something hit me last week. I knew I had stuff I needed to do. I also knew I wasn’t really up to it. And I knew that it was one of those off weeks for me, emotionally and physically. And suddenly it was as if God put this light bulb in my head that said it was ok to give MYSELF some grace. I’m going to have bad days. I’m going to make mistakes. I’m not going to accomplish everything I set out to accomplish.  So what if I’m not feeling good or extra tired one day and need to go home and lay down after work and not clean my house that day. So what if I have an off week where I can’t be Wonderwoman and be super productive.

Jesus said to love our neighbors as we love ourselves. And to do unto others what we would have them do to us. But how long can we keep on being truly gracious to others and keep treating them well if we don’t even know how to take care of or love ourselves???

What do you think? How important is it to show grace to ourselves and what are some ways we can do it?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Grace, for myself???”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

Trina, You really hit the nail on the head. So many of us are way too hard on
ourselves. We need to relax and enjoy what God has for us. When we push ourselves we don’t listen to God and let him lead…Love you…Keep up the good bloging!

You’re right, it’s much harder sometimes to give grace to ourselves than to others (though both can be a challenge!). One thing I’ve noticed is that I tend to guilt myself if I don’t accomplish what I intend, but guilt is not from God. Romans 8 says there is no more condemnation for us in Christ. So we definitely have permission to give ourselves grace! It’s important because guilt and condemnation can paralyze us. When we give ourselves grace (or rather, fully receive the grace God has given us already) we can grow past the condemnation.

Thanks for your comment on my blog! 🙂 I really appreciate it!

Good point!! Yes, it’s easy to get caught up in guilt and let that be our motivator and yardstick for measuring how good we are or how well we’ve done. But like you said, guilt is not how God works. He’s all about grace and second chances!! Thanks for the reminder and for stopping by! 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

