The Unforced Rhythms of Grace

Posted on June 29, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”                                                                                                              Matthew 11:28-30 (The Message)

While all Scripture is powerful and reviving, there are some verses in particular that speak right into the deepest part of me. They are like jumping into a pool on a hot summer day. Like finally lying down to sleep after a long day. A huge burden is lifted and relief spreads throughout my entire body. That’s what this verse does for me, especially the part about learning the “unforced rhythms of grace.” To me, this paints a picture of what it must have been like to walk with God in the Garden of Eden. Complete peace. Walking step by step with our Father. But Jesus says we can have this kind of peace by surrendering ourselves to Him, giving Him all our burdens, and embracing the new life He has for us. I would love to learn to live life by the unforced rhythms of grace. To quit trying so hard to be perfect. To quit worrying  so much. To quit letting fear control me. I want to fix my eyes solely on Jesus and just walk with Him, being who He created me to be and doing what He created me to do.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “The Unforced Rhythms of Grace”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

Oh, to be like Him, Blessed Redeemer….I remember that old Song and this reminds me of it. Thank you, Trina for your insight and being able to put your thoughts into words….


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

