Hurry Up and Wait

Posted on June 7, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

“In Him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of Him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of His will.” Ephesians 1:11

One summer when I was in high school, I went on a mission trip with my church youth group to the Bahamas. Our slogan for the trip became “hurry up and wait.” Hurry and get to the airport and wait to board the plane. Hurry and get off the plane and wait at customs. Hurry up and get ready in the morning and wait for our driver to show up….late I might add, in the classic Bahamian way. 🙂 

That’s how life feels like sometimes, especially as a follower of Christ. We rush along to get our part done and then we wait on God for His part. And as we know, it’s never time when we think it should be time.

And I’ve had way too many of these “hurry up and wait” moments lately. I worked myself to death to get through college and couldn’t wait to be done with school. Then it was wait for a job offer. Now I’ve been pouring myself into work and church and everything else in my life and I’m waiting until my dream of being a published, full-time writer comes true. And it’s hard to be content where I am now when I can’t wait for what’s coming. So I asked God to give me a prayer to pray every morning to keep me focused on where I am now. And He led me to the verse in Ephesians above. So here’s my prayer, “Dear Jesus, I pray that You would use everything I do today and conform it the the purpose of Your will, no matter how exciting or boring, how fullfilling or mundane. Breathe life and purpose into everything I do today. Amen!”

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

