Our Dark Days

Posted on May 31, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I love how God can meet us and speak to us anywhere, even in random, unexpected moments and venues. I had an insight awhile back while watching Gilmore Girls and God reminded me again of it this weekend. (And yes, God can even speak through Gilmore Girls, for those who mock this particular TV viewing habit of mine. 🙂 ) There is an episode which talks about Luke’s “Dark Day.” Every year on a certain date, Luke just seems to disappear for the day. No one knows where he goes or why. Come to find out, this date is the anniversary of his father’s death and he knows that he will not be in a very good mood. So instead of making himself and everyone around him misreable, he just hibernates for the day. Very smart, my friend. I wish we did this more often. We all have those times when we are not at our best for whatever reason and we have all these crazy emotions rolling around and it feels like we’re going to explode. But if you’re like me, you just keep rolling on through whatever you have to do and can come out feeling like you’ve been in a trainwreck. We do, say, and think things that we would never do under normal circumstances. Unfortunately, Satan thrives on these moments in our lives. For me, the attack comes to my thoughts. When I’m in those bad moments, Satan brings his huge dump truck of lies and starts pouring them in my head. And guess what? I believe them!! I’m so lost in my own little misreable world at the moment that I don’t see the lies for what they are, nor do I have the strength to stand up against them. So I open my mind to them and let it run until I’m even more misreable and misguided. We need to be smarter than that. We should know ourselves well enough to know the things that are going to set us off and the times that we are not going to be at our best. And we need to do something about it. Maybe we need to pull a Luke and hibernate for a little while to calm ourselves down and deal with our emotions instead of letting them overtake us. For me, God showed me that in those weak moments, I just need to not think! Because I should know by now that the thoughts running through my head are not going to be true. I need to do something that’s going to distract my mind or better yet, get in the Word and start pouring some truth into my brain. So let’s learn to recognize our dark days for what they are and do whatever we need to take control of them before they take control of us. 🙂

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Our Dark Days”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

Oh, So, True!…One would think that someone as old as your GMa would have it all together but, I still have the same problem…Thank you, Trina for the reminder. May both of us give it all to the one that can solve our problems instead of trying to fix things ourselves.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

