Exchanging Weapons

Posted on April 6, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Jesus said to love our enemies and pray for those who persecute us. He said to forgive as He forgave us. His word says to bear with each other. But sometimes it hurts too much, especially when they’re going on with life like nothing is wrong, like they never hurt you. A part of me wants to pray for them, but a bigger part of me refuses to let it go and demands an apology. And sometimes I worry that my prayers for their change and conviction are secretly about wanting them to feel really guilty. But I hear Jesus speak these words to my heart. “Look down at the weapons in your hand. The weapons of anger, hatred, revenge. Lay those down and pick up the weapons I have given you. The weapons that are going to fight the real battle, take down the real enemy. For your struggle isn’t against flesh and blood, but against the rulers and authorities and against the powers of this dark world. So put on My armor and pick up the sword of the Spirit and pray for those who have hurt you. For those people struggle with the same enemy that you do and they need the same freedom you do. Fighting with the weapons you have in your hand now is only going to continue giving the enemy a foothold and put you into further bondage.” So Jesus, help me to let go of this hurt, to put down my weapons. Heal this broken heart. Bring forgiveness and compassion where there is anger and pain.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Exchanging Weapons”

RSS Feed for Trina's Thoughts–From God's Heart to Mine Comments RSS Feed

I don’t know what your hurts are but God knows. I can & will pray for you and the ones that that cause the hurt. You are loved by many people including your old Grandma. I will be praying for whatever the situation is that God will be with you in the days ahead…Love you MUCH!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • NaBloPoMo

    NaBloPoMo November 2013

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

